USMLE Forums banner

No idea how I passed STEP 2 CS; there's hope for all. Here's my story.

12K views 24 replies 11 participants last post by  Rolandomd 
#1 ·
Hi guys,

I'd like to thank God first and foremost. Alhamdilla I passed. I really really needed this win to keep up my spirits.
This is my first post and I'm happy that it's with a positive connotation.

So here's my CS story and how I passed.

I'm a US med student and I was scheduled to take CS in early November.

In early October my life literally flipped up-side-down. My mom developed a cough and was soon diagnosed with squamous cell lung carcinoma. This alone is devastating. As an only child, without my dad around. It was pretty much my mom and I against this beast. I was horrendously messed up and basically dropped out to take care of my mom. Btw, thank you family and friends for abandoning us.
After rescheduling CS and CK twice, I finally said enough is enough and took a shot in the dark and took CS January, 2016.

My plan:

I studied 10-12 days. I had first aid CS and a whole bunch of notes from previous posts from this website and others - those helped A LOT.

I didn't finish all of first aid. I didn't read the mini-cases. I didn't practice for hours. All I did was gather a bunch of mnemonics for each system.
MSK, PSY, NEURO, CV, PULM, OB/GYN, PEDS, GU and GI.

I memorized the living hell out of my mnemonics then asked 2 of my remaining friends to help out for a couple day to simulate a SP. I did about 4 cases a day for...maybe 4 or 5 days. But...I didn't practice my note.

I practiced with a timer set at 14 mins - Intro, HX, PE, counseling and closure with 1 min to spare if I needed it.

My note I did on my own. Again, I set a timer for 9 mins and God that wasn't enough. I actually timed myself to see how long it took me to finish it while rushing and it was something like 14mins. I had to get faster, and more accurate. Eventually I got it down to 10-11mins with a lot of abbreviations.