USMLE Forums banner

Why the three digit score matters? It's already 99!

6K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  noothan 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm just curious, why is it that everyone is so obsessed with getting scores that are like 250+?

I mean it's great to get 99's but a 99 at a 235, is still a 99 even if the person scored a 299, so what's big deal there?

I just ask because I took my schools assessment exam in order to get approved to take USMLE this summer (mid-end June) and according to the assessment I'm at a 230 right now, and that seems to me like a good score. Of course I'm going to work my butt off to improve it, but at what point do you say realistically, I just gotta take this test and hope I get the best score possible???

any and all input welcome :happy:

#2 ·
The two point scoring system for Step 1 is not really used very much by residency directors. I am a US medical student and we don't even talk about the two point score. For us, the more important number is the three point score because like you said, 99 can be 235 or 99 can be 260. The three point score is a better assessment of how you compare to the rest of the students taking the exam, which is why it is much more likely to be used by residency directors.

230 is a really good start though. You should have no problem doing very well on the exam, but keep in mind that your school's assessment may not be very accurate. Doing an NBME form will give you a better initial assessment.

#4 ·
Oh ok, well that makes more sense...because I was like a 99 is a 99 lol

As far as the assessment we took, it was pretty dead on to the NBME I took the previous week, 229, so I went up a point! haha

I'm shooting for 240! If I get higher great, if I get it right on point awesome too! Just don't want to be lower than that.

I've been busting my ass studying, and it's paying off, now the scary part comes, having to schedule the date now that I have my school permission to do so!