practice session problem! - USMLE Forums
USMLE Forums Logo
USMLE Forums         Your Reliable USMLE Online Community     Members     Posts
Home
USMLE Articles
USMLE News
USMLE Polls
USMLE Books
USMLE Apps
Go Back   USMLE Forums > USMLE Step 1 Forum

USMLE Step 1 Forum USMLE Step 1 Discussion Forum: Let's talk about anything related to USMLE Step 1 exam


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default practice session problem!

hello to everybody! thsi morning i got my USMLE step 1 practice session permit with scheduling # and CIN. when i try to schedule my practice test through prometric i cannot find my preferred test center. when i schedule for the full step 1 exam i find the same test center with no problem. i contacted the test center and they told me that may be a prometric's site problem but it locates test centers at other european countries except mine. do you know what is the problem? am i doing something wrong? is there time needed for prometric to get my eligibility status from ecfmg? thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message



  #2  
Old 01-31-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 15
Threads: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Reputation: 11
Default

There's nothing wrong with that. Not all Prometric locations offer the same kind exams. That happen to my also here in USA. I took the PS on Dec/15 in a different location that the one I will take the test, I just did it because I wanted to know the process, even when is a little frustrate don't do it when you'll actually take the test. Anyway I'm glad I did it, all Prometric test centers practice the same policies and the process is the same everywhere, the environment and even the Exam Room Temperature is the same (66F) something that I knew that day. So, don't worry and go ahead. Good luck!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-31-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillyGarcia View Post
There's nothing wrong with that. Not all Prometric locations offer the same kind exams. That happen to my also here in USA. I took the PS on Dec/15 in a different location that the one I will take the test, I just did it because I wanted to know the process, even when is a little frustrate don't do it when you'll actually take the test. Anyway I'm glad I did it, all Prometric test centers practice the same policies and the process is the same everywhere, the environment and even the Exam Room Temperature is the same (66F) something that I knew that day. So, don't worry and go ahead. Good luck!
thanks for your suggestion! i will take this test for sure. i contacted my nearest prometric center and they told me that the provide this test but i cannot find their center on scheduling page. the weird thing is that i find it when i try to schedule for the full step 1 exam
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 01-31-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 15
Threads: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Reputation: 11
Default

That's the point. For instance, here in Louisville, KY, we have 2 Prometric Centers, I schedule my test (8h) in one of them, but for the PS (4h) that one didn't offer the PS for Usmle S1, so I have to scheduled in the other one. Fortunately I can made both in this city without travel nowhere else. Otherwise, the staff for the first place I try to do the test told me they used to offer the PS Test, but not anymore, and that maybe in a couple of months they will restart to offer it again. Unfortunately I'm taking the test in 2 weeks and I didn't have time in that moment to wait. So I did take in a different location.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-31-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillyGarcia View Post
That's the point. For instance, here in Louisville, KY, we have 2 Prometric Centers, I schedule my test (8h) in one of them, but for the PS (4h) that one didn't offer the PS for Usmle S1, so I have to scheduled in the other one. Fortunately I can made both in this city without travel nowhere else. Otherwise, the staff for the first place I try to do the test told me they used to offer the PS Test, but not anymore, and that maybe in a couple of months they will restart to offer it again. Unfortunately I'm taking the test in 2 weeks and I didn't have time in that moment to wait. So I did take in a different location.
i spoke with prometric through their e-chat and they told me that something is wrong with my account because this specific center provides both types of exams. they told me that an agent will call me on monday to investigate the case and find a solution. thank god that i schedule to take both of exams on May. there is only one center in the whole country.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-31-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 15
Threads: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Reputation: 11
Default

So you can ask your Prometric center if they think they will reoffer the Usmle PS S1 in the near future, just if your test date is not too close you could wait. If you can't take it I don't think will be a big deal anyway. Try to simulate yourself a test in a different environment as the one you are familiar with, take the breaks as in the test, earplugs, dressed like you'll be in the day, etc. I personally think the NBMEs are pretty close to the real exam in the website configuration and the test design. GL again!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-31-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillyGarcia View Post
So you can ask your Prometric center if they think they will reoffer the Usmle PS S1 in the near future, just if your test date is not too close you could wait. If you can't take it I don't think will be a big deal anyway. Try to simulate yourself a test in a different environment as the one you are familiar with, take the breaks as in the test, earplugs, dressed like you'll be in the day, etc. I personally think the NBMEs are pretty close to the real exam in the website configuration and the test design. GL again!
the prometric center tells me that the provide both tests. thats the problem..we will see..good luck to you too
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-31-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 15
Threads: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Reputation: 11
Default

I could never schedule my exams dates using the Prometric website, they never recognized my information. So in both occasions I had to call the main offices call center and when they double check my information they said there was nothing wrong and then proceed to scheduled by phone and sent me a confirmation e-mail. By the way, I pay less by phone that what I was suppose to pay in the website.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-31-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default

so if they dont come up with a solution for the online schedule i will call them to arrange it..should i call the main prometric center in usa or the local center in my country?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-31-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 15
Threads: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Reputation: 11
Default

1-800-633-3926 is the number I called, they are the headquaters
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11  
Old 01-31-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default

thank you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12  
Old 02-01-2015
DrNewB's Avatar
USMLE Forums Addict
 
Steps History: Step 1 Only
Posts: 115
Threads: 16
Thanked 54 Times in 32 Posts
Reputation: 64
Default

I am having same problem. I had dropped the plan of doing the practice test. Seeing your post, I think even I should call them. Thanks
__________________
"If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough." Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13  
Old 02-01-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default

I still don't understand what the problem is..is it a prometric's problem or something about the permit? Whatever you find out please post it here
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14  
Old 02-02-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default

in which country are you trying to schedule?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15  
Old 02-02-2015
DrNewB's Avatar
USMLE Forums Addict
 
Steps History: Step 1 Only
Posts: 115
Threads: 16
Thanked 54 Times in 32 Posts
Reputation: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seriff View Post
in which country are you trying to schedule?
In USA. I think the problem was in their website. Yesterday I tried one more time and it worked! I didn't call the prometric coz I could schedule for the practice exam without any problem.

Most likely the problem is in their website. Call them. I think they can schedule your practice test on phone too.

I could book my test because of you. Thank you All the best!!
__________________
"If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough." Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The above post was thanked by:
seriff (02-02-2015)



  #16  
Old 02-02-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default

i called them and they told me that they still dont know if this is a problem of prometric or nbme. so they gave me a reference number and i will call them again in 3 business days with this number to see if there is any progress..i hope they solve it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #17  
Old 02-02-2015
DrNewB's Avatar
USMLE Forums Addict
 
Steps History: Step 1 Only
Posts: 115
Threads: 16
Thanked 54 Times in 32 Posts
Reputation: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seriff View Post
i called them and they told me that they still dont know if this is a problem of prometric or nbme. so they gave me a reference number and i will call them again in 3 business days with this number to see if there is any progress..i hope they solve it.
Am sorry to hear that. Try and see once in a while. I would try to locate test center in their website every 3-4 days last month. And then gave up thinking there might be no centers in my area. Yesterday in the evening it suddenly showed me the test center which is like 5 min from my house.
__________________
"If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough." Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The above post was thanked by:
seriff (02-02-2015)
  #18  
Old 02-02-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default

in prometric site, if i choose the option "locate a test center" and then the test " STEP 1 PRACTICE TEST" not with small letters, and then insert my schedule number, it says "The eligibility entered is not valid for the test selected."

is it needed firstly to schedule my actual step 1 exam and then schedule the practice, or it doesnt matter?

Last edited by seriff; 02-02-2015 at 03:46 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19  
Old 02-02-2015
DrNewB's Avatar
USMLE Forums Addict
 
Steps History: Step 1 Only
Posts: 115
Threads: 16
Thanked 54 Times in 32 Posts
Reputation: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seriff View Post
in prometric site, if i choose the option "locate a test center" and then the test " STEP 1 PRACTICE TEST" not with small letters, and then insert my schedule number, it says "The eligibility entered is not valid for the test selected."
Just to make sure, did you type your practice session scheduling number or real test scheduling number? What is the eligibility period in your practice test schedulling permit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by seriff View Post
is it needed firstly to schedule my actual step 1 exam and then schedule the practice, or it doesnt matter?
Don't know that. But don't think if it should matter.
__________________
"If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough." Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20  
Old 02-02-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default

i type my practice test schedule number..it logs me in without a problem and on next page where you select test center there are no countries loaded. my eligibility period for the real exam is may-july and for practice test is 29 jaunary to 31 july
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #21  
Old 02-03-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default

i discovered that when i click first on availability option and then choose the PRACTICE STEP 1, i locate my test center but all possible exam dates are unavalaible for chosing.they are erased. what is this supposed to mean?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #22  
Old 02-04-2015
DrNewB's Avatar
USMLE Forums Addict
 
Steps History: Step 1 Only
Posts: 115
Threads: 16
Thanked 54 Times in 32 Posts
Reputation: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seriff View Post
i discovered that when i click first on availability option and then choose the PRACTICE STEP 1, i locate my test center but all possible exam dates are unavalaible for chosing.they are erased. what is this supposed to mean?
Are they greyed out? Then it means that all the seats are already booked!! I can't believe that all the seats are full from Jan to July You might want to call them.
__________________
"If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough." Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #23  
Old 02-04-2015
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 14
Threads: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Default

It's impossble.there's something wrong but I can't find out what
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #24  
Old 09-03-2016
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 24
Threads: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Reputation: 12
Default Louisville

@WillyGarcia, are you still in Louisville?
__________________
-Wicked Wolowizard
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #25  
Old 09-05-2016
USMLE Forums Newbie
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 9
Threads: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Reputation: 12
Default

Sorry to hear. what?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message






Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the USMLE Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Medical School
Choose "---" if you don't want to tell. AMG for US & Canadian medical schools. IMG for all other medical schools.
USMLE Steps History
What steps finished! Example: 1+CK+CS+3 = Passed Step 1, Step 2 CK, Step 2 CS, and Step 3.

Choose "---" if you don't want to tell.

Favorite USMLE Books
What USMLE books you really think are useful. Leave blank if you don't want to tell.
Location
Where you live. Leave blank if you don't want to tell.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prometric Practice Session; Is It Useful? DocCT USMLE Step 1 Forum 2 10-31-2013 01:12 AM
practice session for step 1 eveli55 USMLE Step 1 Forum 1 01-29-2013 11:46 AM
practice session at prometric center. Abdelhalim USMLE Step 2 CK Forum 4 07-09-2012 05:48 PM
Prometric Practice Session Confirmation Email sandy282 USMLE Step 1 Forum 6 03-12-2012 08:56 AM
Practice Session ruijunsu USMLE Step 1 Forum 0 10-17-2011 12:47 PM

RSS Feed
Find Us on Facebook
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

USMLE® & other trade marks belong to their respective owners, read full disclaimer
USMLE Forums created under Creative Commons 3.0 License. (2009-2014)