Power Issues at prometric center in Pakistan - USMLE Forums
USMLE Forums Logo
USMLE Forums         Your Reliable USMLE Online Community     Members     Posts
Home
USMLE Articles
USMLE News
USMLE Polls
USMLE Books
USMLE Apps
Go Back   USMLE Forums > USMLE Step 1 Forum

USMLE Step 1 Forum USMLE Step 1 Discussion Forum: Let's talk about anything related to USMLE Step 1 exam


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2011
USMLE Forums Guru
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 417
Threads: 74
Thanked 129 Times in 93 Posts
Reputation: 139
Pakistan Power Issues at prometric center in Pakistan

Hi I am in Pakistan and I am concerned about which prometric center should I pick?
Many of my colleagues have told me that they heard that people had issues with the power, since the whole country is having a crisis for electricity and when they are doing the mcqs during the exam the electricity goes for like 5 mins and it wastes their time, but this is happening in a few centers, so does anyone who took the exam recently heard about it or know anything or anyone can tell me which city prometric center should I pick which will not have any power issues?
Also i would appreciate if someone can share their experience in centre located in lahore or karachi or islamabad, if they had any electricity issues during the exam?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message



  #2  
Old 02-17-2011
USMLE Forums Guru
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 417
Threads: 74
Thanked 129 Times in 93 Posts
Reputation: 139
Default

so i called the prometric centers and they all said that they have power generators and the computers do not shut off at any time. so there is no problem in any prometric center and they are all international standard centers.
so its just a rumor!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-17-2011
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: 1 + CK
Posts: 81
Threads: 7
Thanked 48 Times in 23 Posts
Reputation: 58
Default

@salz.
Let me share my experience at Prometric Karachi.
There was no interruptions in electricity supply, nor there was any time wasted.
It went smoothly.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The above post was thanked by:
salz (02-17-2011)
  #4  
Old 02-17-2011
USMLE Forums Guru
 
Steps History: 1+CK+CS+3
Posts: 335
Threads: 24
Thanked 295 Times in 152 Posts
Reputation: 305
Default

I am sure they have UPS installed as they are centers for not just USMLE but alot of other international exams.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-14-2011
mle guy's Avatar
USMLE Forums Veteran
 
Steps History: 1+CK+CS+3
Posts: 264
Threads: 16
Thanked 349 Times in 165 Posts
Reputation: 359
Smile UPS for computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by salz View Post
Hi I am in Pakistan and I am concerned about which prometric center should I pick?
Many of my colleagues have told me that they heard that people had issues with the power, since the whole country is having a crisis for electricity and when they are doing the mcqs during the exam the electricity goes for like 5 mins and it wastes their time, but this is happening in a few centers, so does anyone who took the exam recently heard about it or know anything or anyone can tell me which city prometric center should I pick which will not have any power issues?
Also i would appreciate if someone can share their experience in centre located in lahore or karachi or islamabad, if they had any electricity issues during the exam?
This is my experience of the Islamabad prometric center. When the power went out, only the computers and some lights kept on running. There was no disruption of the test and we kept on doing it. This was only for 2-3 mins and then the full power came back. So no need to worry about the power outages ruining your exam
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-14-2011
qurat21's Avatar
USMLE Forums Master
 
Steps History: 1 + CK
Posts: 623
Threads: 62
Thanked 287 Times in 186 Posts
Reputation: 297
Default

shall inform u about my experience in ISB after 17th aug INSHA ALLAH
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-14-2011
USMLE Forums Addict
 
Steps History: Step 1 Only
Posts: 132
Threads: 1
Thanked 120 Times in 51 Posts
Reputation: 130
Default

There is a mini UPS attached to every computer at the Islamabad centre, so normally one should not expect any disruption during the exam. At least i did not face any problem during my exam in march.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: 1+CK+CS
Posts: 17
Threads: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Reputation: 11
Default

There isn't any problem. There are UPS(s) and backup generators
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
USMLE Forums Scout
 
Steps History: Not yet
Posts: 28
Threads: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Reputation: 15
Default

I took my exam in Lahore and my friend took it in Islamabad and both of these centers had no interruption or whatsoever you like to call it. Just focus on what really needs to be focused. Best of luck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message



Reply

Tags
Islamabad-, Karachi-, Lahore-, Pakistan-, Prometric-

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the USMLE Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Medical School
Choose "---" if you don't want to tell. AMG for US & Canadian medical schools. IMG for all other medical schools.
USMLE Steps History
What steps finished! Example: 1+CK+CS+3 = Passed Step 1, Step 2 CK, Step 2 CS, and Step 3.

Choose "---" if you don't want to tell.

Favorite USMLE Books
What USMLE books you really think are useful. Leave blank if you don't want to tell.
Location
Where you live. Leave blank if you don't want to tell.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to calculate the power of a study ? TAAOM USMLE Step 1 Forum 4 08-25-2011 08:47 PM
2011 match application issues!!! adorisz General Topics Forum 5 01-25-2011 10:07 AM
Practice test for USMLE STEP1 at the prometric center sona USMLE Step 1 Forum 4 12-17-2010 04:44 AM
Prometric Center in Saudi Arabia Incredible General Topics Forum 2 06-19-2010 03:33 PM

RSS Feed
Find Us on Facebook
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

USMLE® & other trade marks belong to their respective owners, read full disclaimer
USMLE Forums created under Creative Commons 3.0 License. (2009-2014)