USMLE Forums - View Single Post - My CK Experience (***/**)
View Single Post
Old 12-06-2012
USMLE Forums Scout

Steps History: CS Only
Threads: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman_purav View Post
DISCLAIMER- I STILL HAVEN'T RECEIVED MY CK SCORES SO WHETHER TO FOLLOW MY ADVICE OR NOT IS UPTO YOU

Alright so first of all I'm an average student. Im not the 250+ types.

Secondly, PLEASE CARRY HOME MADE MEALS IF THE PROMETRIC CENTER IS NOT IN YOUR TOWN. I had a meal at a restaurant on the night before the exam and suffered from food-poisoning on the day of the exam! Its not a good experience, trust me.

Okay then first of all "I can't sleep on the night before the exam"
Solution- STOP READING ATLEAST 16-18 HOURS BEFORE THE EXAM! For those of you who were unable to sleep the night before the Step1, try this. If you're planning to study till midnight then your brains going to be processing so much info that it's not going to be possible for you to sleep before the exam. (Not true for everyone but since this is my experience I'm going to share it anyways So stop studying coz you don't want to ruin your exam studying for some ques that you're not even sure are going to show up in the exam.

"Breaks"- another very personal thing. But I would SUGGEST YOU TAKE A BREAK AFTER EVERY BLOCK. Reason being if you realize you made an error in the previous block then your current block is going to suffer. You don't want such things hovering in your mind and affecting your concentration. I took a break after every block. I took pics (hard copies) of my girlfriend (shes the hot cute attractive types ) to the exam and used to see them after every block. The only thing it did was it made me forget everything about my prev block. They won't mind even if you take a FHM or MAXIM to the exam. But don't try to think about the ques that have already passed!!