USMLE Forums - View Single Post - Story of my 271!
View Single Post
Old 02-10-2014
USMLE Forums Newbie

Steps History: Not yet
Threads: 2
Thumbs Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by diagnostic View Post
Hello again everyone,
As I mentioned in my step 1 experience, I'm not good with writing but still am gonna give it a try. I know everyone wants to score high and even I did but I don't really think people who score high are people who read a lot of books or did many Q-banks. Step 2 CK is anyways not much about knowledge, but more about the actual practice of medicine. So if I have any advice to give to you all it is "Please read every question as a different one and don't try to jump to the answer thinking you solved a similar question in U-world or Kaplan or anywhere"
If you do that you'll be good to go for the exam.

Now my experience:
I started studying in April after my step 1 results as I was hoping to take it in July. I had plans of taking CS in June. But things didn't work out the way I wanted and I wasted my May and June mourning,partying and getting my way out of the frustration. I started studying seriously in July. I also joined a job so that I don't feel like a totally useless person. But the job took its toll on me and slowed down my studies.

I read Kaplans Medicine thoroughly and annotated whatever was extra in MTB-2. I tried to mug up as much as I can in the first go itself. Took me a month but it was worth it. Completed everything else the same way in another month and a half. So I read Kaplan and MTB-2. For Gynae I read KLN only. Then I started UW and revising MTB-2. Sometimes I read a few things from First Aid for Step 1 as well like Glycogen storage diseases, Ethics, Epidemio etc. If you have time, do go through FA for Step 1. FA for step 2 CK is a nice revision book but isn't like that for step 1.