USMLE Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all! So im an IMG who gave the step 2 ck exam on the 25th of last month and just got my result a couple of days ago.
I started my prep for CK a month after i gave my step 1 exam. From the start my goal was 255+. My total prep time was around 3 months. I started off with kaplan books and gave them a quick read, finishing them in one month. After that i did MTB 3 for all subjects except medicine. I studied kaplan medicine last and felt confident enough to start Uworld without doing MTB 2 for medicine. The first random, timed block i did i got 89%. That gave me a confidence boost. I did get a couple of 60's but ended up with a first pass of 80%. I annotated all the imp details of uworld on MTB2 for medicine and MTB3 for the rest. In the process i also read up MTB2 while annotating.

After finishing uworld i did MTB2 and 3 with the annotations and then did nbme 4 in which i got around 250. I did tikki tika notes for the subjects i felt weak in like peds, cardio and pulmonology. I liked the notes but didnt have time to do all the notes.

Then i did the clinical mastery series for gyne, peds, medicine and psych. I found these questions hard but very useful so i would definitely recommend them.
As i did in step 1 i did ALL the NBME's from 1 to 7. They were very helpful to get the hang of the type of questions that come in the exam.

2 weeks before the exam i did UWSA and got 260.
3 days before i did FRED and got 91%

The day of the exam i felt more at ease than step 1 simply because i had gone through the process before and it was familiar. The test itself was long and confusing but definitely doable. Lots of weird questions but extremely easy ones too. I finished almost each block with 10 mins to spare and used that time to review the questions i had flagged. Coming out of the exam i felt horrible as i felt i had messed up on too many of the easy questions.