USMLE Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my mark today for USMLE Step 1. I did use this forum a lot for information and help, and I thought I should share my experience in return.

I am a practicing Canadian anesthesiologist (graduated medical school in 2005/completed residency in 2010). I recently decided to return to some extra training (a fellowship), and passing USMLEs was a condition of the position that was offered. So I buckled down and got to work. Obviously, Step 1 was the most difficult for me since I have not seen that material in many years. The only upside is that I really only needed a pass (since I already had a position) and I didn't need a really good score.

I started study on August 15 and wrote the exam on October 18. This means I studied for about two months, while working full time (including at least 1 weekend per month) and I have a busy family life with two children. I averaged 2-3 hours of studying per day, with the odd day off, and some longer days closer to the exam.

My resources:
1. First Aid: A great book. I would say that it covered all the material, it was very condensed. Because so much of the material was so foreign to me, I had to go back to basics (i.e. other resources) to really understand the concepts. First Aid was not enough for me to really grasp concepts on its own. But it was still a very useful reference.

2. Pathoma: This site saved me. The videos are great and he is an amazing teacher. I don't think I could have done this without it. Worth every penny.