USMLE Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Update: April 20th, 2011: Got My score 241/99

I graduated from an Indian Medical School 2 years ago.. I was all confused about how to go about the USMLE.. here's what I can tell you from the experience I have gathered..

First and foremost.. do not go ahead and book an eligibility period or an exam date.. it's a common practice in India..your seniors will often tell you.. "book a date 3-4 months from now and prepare accordingly, booking a date creates a pressure which will help u stay focused ...etc".. though booking an exam date etc does help create a pressure and streamline you towards a prep but not before you know you are ready for the exam..

The Indian syllabus varies much from the USMLE syllabus.. the diseases which are important and we focus on etc are totally different here .. to tune and accustom yourself to what is followed in the American colleges, you need Kaplan. it well help you create basic concepts which can be applied to a wide variety of questions.. but these are not the absolute textbooks for the USMLE.. kaplan gives you a broader picture of things..but you need FA to focus on the high yields and key points which you certainly need to know line by line to ace the exam..

Listening to the kaplan videos is quite resourceful.. I especially recommend pharm by raymon, biochem by turco and raymon, physiology by kudrath, anatomy by david..

I'm not a great fan of the path KLN or the videos.. for that you need to have Goljan RR and his audio.. although his audio is old I highly recommend you listen to them at least once.. I don't think its necessary to go through all of Goljan RR as it's a very exhaustive review of pathology, focusing on just the high yield that he points out in the lecture should suffice..

BRS behavioral science, MRS microbiology are some other books which you may need