USMLE Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in my second year on medical school in Mexico. The school requires the students to take the USMLE step 1 Kaplan course and pass a USMLE practice exam in our 4th semester. We started Kaplan in May and we had a midterm USMLE that I scored 38% on. We have covered all the material except half of Anatomy and Half of Biochemisty...

We have two weeks left until the final and today I did a full length Kaplan exam and I scored a 40. As a side note I have been studying as much as I can following the 6 hour Kaplan lecture but I think it is really taking a toll on me. At this point I have no clue what to do and I am really discouraged, I was really hoping for at least a 50 (which is the Avg of the last 5 blocks I did in Kaplan part of my nightly qBank blocks).

I want to pass the final to get signed off so that I can utilize the summer in the United states to prep for the real thing. I have decided that I need to be running consistent 60-65 Mixed Kaplan Qbank in order to even think about NBME's..

When I am ready for the NBME I was aiming for >400 before even thinking about the REAL USMLE. But I just can't seem to get there. I have all the current Kaplan material, First aid 2010 and Goljan Rapid review. I have been through 65% of the Goljan but I find that you really need to be fresh to get the most out of Goljan and I am not sure I am fresh after 6 hours of Kaplan. I have read through the forums and looked at the different methods but nothing seems to fit just yet. Any pointers or advice would be great... ThanKs!

JONES!

·
Registered
4,342 Posts
Keep it up

It's obvious that you need to read more.

If you are short of time I suggest you stop doing questions and throw Kaplan notes away.

Grab your First Aid and start reading carefully. You can finish in it in 2 to 4 weeks. FA is a one book that has all what you need to score higher.