USMLE Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi
i am an old graduate (2000), needing visa, no US exp or US LOR 91/97/pass all 1st attempt applied late in october as i was waiting for results, no single interview in ped or IM does it worth to apply next year or to try to have some US exp or it is going to be a waste of time and money? really depressed being treated as expired for my YOG

·
Registered
3,316 Posts
My honest opinion

I am really sorry to learn that you did not get any interview.

Let me be honest with you.

I don't think you'll be having a better chance next year unless you do the following:

Do USCE, in the form of hands-on experience.
Get very strong US LoRs.
Make connections with program directors and residencies so that they themselves take you into their program.

·
Registered
37 Posts
don't give up!

I am like you ( graduate 2000) but still preparing for step 1. I believe man does not lose due to any experience... he loses if he does not pass through it. loss of money and effort does not cause regret as they can be compensated.. What really causes regret is feeling that you missed a chance...
believe me, you will be satisfied if you do your best (whether you get matched or not).. but if you give up now, you will blame yourself for rest of your life.
Do USCE and fight till the end. Maybe, circumstances will change next years.. Who knows??

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks for your good words i really appreciate your support and i really love this job and believe that i can give more than anyone can expect and it upsets and hurts me a lot when no one can feel that and use the year of graduation as an evaluation tool without giving me a chance even to an interview then the decision of acceptance or rejection will be on a real bases than judging someone they didnt even see

·
Registered
37 Posts