USMLE Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dears at usmleforums,
I am a fresh international medical graduate intending to apply for usmle and would like to know the difference between CVS and EICS certification? Can I primary source verify my credentials through EICS instead of CVS and then apply it to ecfmg and would that exempt me from filling form186? As ECIS looks to do the job faster as they offer the possibility of courier service!

Thanks a lot for your concern
regards

·
Ex-USMLE Forums Staff
753 Posts
Here's the answer

The Federation Credentials Verification Service also know as FCVS is provided by the FSMB for physicians intended to practice medicine in USA.

EICS is the ECFMG Interernation Credentials Services assists international medical registration authorities in obtaining primary-source verification of medical education and registration credentials of physicians applying for licensure whose medical education was completed outside their jurisdictions.

The sequence of events is as follows;
You pass USMLE Steps --> you get ECFMG certified --> you start residency --> you do Step 3 USMLE ---> you contact FCVS ---> you then can practice independently in USA.

The EICS is not for you. It's for medical registration authorities that want to double check on you by using the ECFMG services.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My Question was not clear

Thanks alot lee, but that was not what I really meant "I wasn't clear enough, sorry",