USMLE Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys.

I've been reading up on USMLE for quite a while and I'm taking the plunge this year.
I'm a Pakistani Student, currently in 4th year and I fulfilling the basic sciences

I started preparing from January, but only seriously started in the last week.

Here's my plan.

I intend to do the Kaplan lecture series, with the lecture notes first, as a complete review of all the stuff. My estimate is it'll take 3 months. (my estimate of length of videos is around 270 hrs, that by 5 hours/day with one day off per week and give or take for unforeseen circumstances).

After that, I'll give two NBME tests in succession.
Then I'll have a good idea about my state of preparation and will fix the date of the exam,

For which I've tentatively decided the Aug-Sep-Oct period.
After that, taking my own notes that I've made in my previous 3 years and FA and high yield

I intend to revise everything over a month.
In the remaining 4 months I am only going to take tests, point my weaknesses and and remedy them.

First two months by the books and the next two by a subscription to Kaplan QBank.

Other strategies I plan to deploy.
* Spaced repetition.
* Relaxation.
* Not comparing myself too much to others.
* And teaching my study partner what I know and listening to what she is saying

·
Registered
7 Posts
hi...

I think add UW and some ethic book in ur plan......do not bother for personal notes, I mean kaplan notes are more than enough,,do not waste time on other resources ..kap notes (5 times), video lectures(1), uw/kaplan bank(2), first aid(3)......assess by nbme...99 guaranteed...

Good luck...

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'll look up some ethics book in the forums. :)
And should i get a subscription to UW? I can only afford one, unfortunately. :(

Thank you. :)

·
Registered
52 Posts