USMLE Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Five different viruses are added to cultures of permissive cells treated with Actinomycin D, a drug which binds to DNA and inhibits mammalian and viral DNA replication and transcription by all mammalian nuclear RNA polymerases. Which virus should you expect to produce infectious progeny?

A. Herpes simplex virus, Type I.
B. Human immunodeficiency virus - 1.
C. Human polyoma virus.
D. Influenza virus.
E. Yellow Fever virus.

·
Registered
71 Posts
B

B

I'm not good at explaining why I choose a certain answer, but I will say that I know there are is no cure for HIV, so actinoymycin D should have no effect on it...i think...

·
Registered
487 Posts
Let me simplify this...

A. Herpes simplex virus, Type I. --- dsDNA virus
B. Human immunodeficiency virus - 1. ---- RNA virus (rep:RNA-dependent DNA polymerase)
C. Human polyoma virus. --- dsDNA virus
D. Influenza virus. --- RNA virus (rep:RNA-dependent RNA polymerase )
E. Yellow Fever virus --- RNA virus

Now I need to know what are the ongogenic viruses. HIV is the only one on the list can cause cancer and others don't. So, I'll go with Chioce B) HIV :confused:

·
Registered
590 Posts
D. Influenza

I would choose D. Influenza because it is the only negative-sense RNA on the list. It brings its own RNA-dependent RNA polymerase, so it shouldn't be affected.

@aktorque: why oncogenic?

FA 2011/2010 p. 169/170 SS- viruses:
Bring A Polymerase Or Fail Replication
(Bunyavirus, Arenavirus, Paramyxovirus, Orthomyxovirus, Filovirus, Rhabdovirus)

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The answer is E.

This Q is simply asking about a very high yield concept. Which one is +ve RNA virus?

Actinomycin D acts in the nucleus. So every thing in the nucleus, whether mammalian or viral is shut off, as the Q stem is clearly saying.