USMLE Forums banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone :)

I just joined this forum yesterday and this is my first post. Thank you athman for deciding to share you story, I'm sure it'll be quite a help for those like me aiming to score a residency.

Now, I need some advice regarding how I should prep myself & schedule for the exam. I am a medical student in Chittagong, Bangladesh going to start my 3rd year coming January. Our course (MBBS) is divided into 3 phases: (i) 1 and 1/2 yrs pre‐clinical; when we study Anatomy, Physiology and Biochemistry, (ii) 2 yrs para‐clinical; when we study Pathology, Pharmacology, Microbiology, Forensic Medicine and Community Medicine(which partly covers behavioral science), and finally (iii) 1 and 1/2 years clinical; when we go through Medicine, Surgery and Obs. & Gynae. At the end of each phase we sit a 'professional exam' and I've just passed my first one. I plan to take the Step I around December 2012 after completing the second professional exam which will be over by Aug‐Sep 2012. I will have finished most of the fields tested in Step I although may not be all and in enough detail. I know that we haven't been taught Physiology in enough detail and I was particularly weak in Biochemistry & Genetics. I wish to study my second phase subjects in a way more oriented towards the USMLE so hopefully I wont have much deficit in those subjects. Now my question is if I take the exam at the end of Dec '12 after completing my 2nd prof in end of Aug/beginning of Sep, will about 3 months of time be enough to prepare for the Step I? I will still have my final phase classes & wards but I can afford to slack a little for the first 3‐4 months (Oct‐Dec '12) and concentrate on USMLE but I've to be serious from '13 so I don't know whether it would be wise to delay the Step I to a later date in '13. I will be graduating in Jan '14 soonafter which I plan to take my Step 2 CK before getting busy with my intern