USMLE Forums banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! I have been reading posts on this forum site for the past 3 - 5 years and you guys (especially IMGs) inspire me to get back on track with hopes of practicing medicine in the US. I am IMG from the Philippines (2008) and recently completed a Pathology (both Anatomic and Clinical) residency in 2014 from a government (tertiary) medical center. Even before I graduated in medschool, I have plans of taking up the USMLE but did not have a clue as where to start. I had the oppurtunity to visit the US on tourist visa on 2011 for a month (already on my first year of residency) and that made me see how I would want to live and work there someday. So I decided to go for it during second year of residency -- I took the Step 1 on 2012 (Philippines) but sadly, failed. Well, I only have myself to blame at that time because I went through it hurriedly, without proper planning and concentration for the review. For a while, that really discouraged me and did not plan on taking up anymore so I decided to concentrate on my residency.

Fast forward 2014, I was just about done with my training and decided to take some time off. I wasn't planning on taking the National Diplomate exams just yet so I decided to apply as a Pathologist Assistant (We are not allowed to practice without a Diplomate license) and accepted a part time faculty position from my Medical School and the College of Pharmacy. Working as a faculty gave me the chance to go back in the basics and I was happy I was teaching and re-learning at the same time. Working for a senior pathologists all the more increased my desire of pursuing Pathology in the US because I felt I have much, much more to learn.