USMLE Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello doctors

My name is Emir. I am a 5th year medical student in my country in south east asia. i will be taking the national exam on feb 17 and become a GP here. As part of the compulsory program in my country, i have completed 2 years of hospital rotations in all fields of medicine (excluding pathology) after obtaining my bachelor degree in mid 2014. i took step 1 last month, the score came out to be 213. Honestly, i feel devastated by this result, i was hoping that the worse i can get is around 220-230

it took me 1.5 - 2 years to prepare for step 1 (due to the huge disparity of materials taught between my country and in US), i took 9 months of the K*plan courses and 6 months of Uw*rld qbanks. scores averages 60-75%
i did 4 NBME SAS, the score averages between 210-217
i did 2 UWSAS the score was 230-232

my study books were the kap LN, FA step 1, Step 1 secrets.
i felt that i've tried the hardest i can, but i cant seem to pump up the scores on my try outs. although i know that this doesnt matter but confusingly all my years on med school i was regarded as one of the most capable students / candidates.

the only purpose of me in doing all of this is to get Internal Medicine Residency in the US, wherever that might be, any hospital will be fine. i never intended to go to the top university affiliated hospitals.

My questions to you are:

1. is IM still possible for me?
2. How high should i aim to score in 2 ck to help myself out of this mess?
3. is USCE essential for me? if yes, where should i do it?

Thank you for your time reading this, please kindly give me advices and opinions, i wish you the best of luck in your preparations and future.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hello, please post your opinions here, i dont think i have enough knowledge about the ground i am standing on right now

·
Registered
24 Posts