USMLE Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!!

Hope you are doing well

I start this new threat to talk about my USMLE STEP 1 Experience, in which I got 232. They gave me the result yesterday.

Starting about me and my background, I am still a Spanish student currently at Sixth year, the last one. I still don´t know why I started study for Step 1 but here I go. Probably cause nobody knows what we will be doing in the future and taking USMLE exams are like an open door in United States.

Exam date: 21th of April

Study plan: From Octuber to April. I am working so I couldn´t prepare it full-time. 4 hours on average from Monday to Friday. I may reach 6-7-8 hours on Sundays. I couldn´t study on Saturdays.

Sources:

FIRST AID: AS F**** buddies. I knew this pretty well. Easy read from October to December, to knew what I was facing. From January to April I read it again like 5-6 times easily. The first read was the hardest. I did study most of the concepts but was long time ago. But this book should be on your desk daily. I would say that 80 per cent of the concepts are taken from this book...

QBANK: I did 212 blocks of 44 questions. At April I could answer the questions only with reading the last sentence.

Secondary resources:

High Yield Microbiology: One read on November. Then, FA is more than enough.

Clinical Microbiology Made Ridicously Simple: One read on November. Microbiology was pretty tough but only after reading this book, it turns out to be very very very very simple.

Kaplan books: Only few parts of Genetics, Biochem and Pharma and they aren´t that good in my opinion. A lot of sh**.

BRS Phisiology: One read at the very end.

The 100 cases you are most likely to see on the exam: One read at the very end. Not only single one view on the day test. Paaam.