USMLE Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, i wrote this for myself but i figured i might as well drop it here since it may be useful for someone... it is very long and filled with irrelevant details but you might enjoy it XD

I matched to IM this year so i'm just writing stuff so that i don't forget .

-----

. During my last semester, I wasn't completely sure I wanted to continue my studies in the US. I had started studying for the MIR and I had finished about 4-5 of the CTO books by the time I graduated. In contrast I had skimmed like 20 pages of Kaplan's physiology.​
One September morning, after I had finished my pensum, I just said screwed it all and completely ditched the MIR. I didn't really had a reason, just a gut feeling that I should try to go for the states.

Later on I rationalized this decision by saying that the US had a lower entry barrier than Spain, and this has proven true several times.​
I talked to a friend who had been studying for a while then about what the best method to study would be. Our goal was to Finish all the Kaplan lectures and videos in 4 months, each subject taking from 2 to 1 week. We wanted to finish by January . We used the following order : Pathology (BRS notes+ Goljan audio and notes) , Physiology (Videos+ Kaplan and BRS), Biochem (Kaplan notes+vids), + Pharmacology +Microbiology/Immuno (Kaplan vids+notes), Anatomy (Kaplan vids+notes).

I finished Anatomy around December but by that time I was completely burned out from studying. I studied from Monday to Friday from 8 am to 8 pm sharp, and Saturdays for about 5 hours. It wasn't without interruptions but It was enough to make me want to quit the Steps, so during December I applied for a "National internship" in a private hospital .