USMLE Forums banner

Questions regarding application process for medical electives.

1K views 4 replies 2 participants last post by  redskybluerose 
#1 ·
Hi,
I am currently in final year (internship) in India. I was trying to collect all the documents I need to apply for medical electives. It's almost impossible to find electives that don't require Step 1 scores these days as a part of application process. So my question is:

1. Can I apply for the electives widely to universities now and send them my step scores later? I need a lot of time to prepare for Step 1 (10-11 months) and at the same time I need to do my internship and also get electives done before internship ends.
Another thing, if I apply widely for electives, I would be giving away thousands of non- refundable fees to the universities with no gurantee of getting an elective :notsure::notsure::notsure::eek::eek:

2. Is there any rule that MCI strictly follows like do I have to finish my internship within 2 years? I won't be able to electives, step 1 or finish my internship if there is any such rule :plz::plz::plz:

3. How credible are agencies like medclerkship? But I would still like to go through universities and not through agencies.:confused::confused::confused:

4. Please help me plan this stuff out or share the plans some of your seniors or friends are following. I have no one from my college who drove through the USMLE road. So, I would really appreciate it if someone on this forum could throw in some of their insight into this matter, which is currently giving me a massive migraine. There's only so much you need to take care of uggghhhh :scared::scared::scared::scared::scared::scared:

See less See more
#2 ·