USMLE Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello fellow usmle 2014 applicant
my situation is I am an old grad 2001 , recently migrated to USA from Dubai ( green card holder)
my scores:
step 1 202:toosad:
step 2 231
cs pass
all first attempt
1 month observer ship from university hospital
2 US LOR
and LOR from work place but he is American board certified
working as resident in internal medicine at a private hospital in Dubai ( no gaps .. I have always worked )
do you think that sending photo to eras with head viel ( Hijab ) will add red flag to my profile ( which not great )
please advise ?
thank u so much :confused::confused:

·
Registered
157 Posts
It won't be a red flag, there are many Muslim ladies that are doctors in America.

However, some programs are secular, and don't tolerate any form of religious exhibitionism. These programs make up like 1%.

·
Registered
48 Posts
It won't be a red flag, there are many Muslim ladies that are doctors in America.

However, some programs are secular, and don't tolerate any form of religious exhibitionism. These programs make up like 1%.
I dont think wearing a hijab is considered religious exhibitionism. Even secular programs will have doctors from several ethnicities and religions. And if im not mistaken, it is illegal to discriminate applicants based on religious beliefs. Most hospital, espcicially university hospitals, will have an office for equal opportunity (may be called differently depending on the hospital). The one of the many functions of this office is to make sure that qualified applicants with different backgrounds are all given the same chances.