USMLE Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everybody,
i graduated this year and i heard that getting an elective after graduation is hard, is that true?
if yes, can anyone help with any options that might be available instead?

·
Registered
3,263 Posts
Guide to Externships and Observerships in USMLE Forums

Doing electives after graduation is certainly one of the most important aspects to get you into a residency match.

Electives can be divided into two types
Observership
Externship

To know the difference between these two read here:
http://www.usmle-forums.com/recomme...s/108-externship-observership-difference.html

Also these two links can help you get acquainted with the issue
List of threads tagged with Externship
List of threads tagged with Observership

We also have a poll in which users are voting for the best commercial paid externship services. Here's the link
http://www.usmle-forums.com/residency-match-recommended-threads/1420-paid-externships-imgs.html

·
Registered
98 Posts
Hands on training after graduation

hi everybody,
i graduated this year and i heard that getting an elective after graduation is hard, is that true?
if yes, can anyone help with any options that might be available instead?
Getting electives on your own after graduation is very difficult, in some cases it will be near impossible. You need proper insurance coverage that is specific for International Medical Graduates, not students. Our organization offers medical liability insured HANDS ON clinical rotations or IMG's in multiple locations across the US. Which specialty are you interested in?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
im intrested in general surgery, and getting and elective in surgery departments is really hard so any chances or options
thanks

·
Registered
37 Posts
externship for old grad