USMLE Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys.

First, let me tell you I've been reading silently here for over a year and this is a really good resource.

I actually wanted to attempt Step 1 this year in August. I'm a med student and already have a good grasp of basic sciences. But seeing both the overwhelming information and the bitter experiences her is kinda scaring me. Is USMLE has really become that tough?

Thanks.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Dear Dr No,

This forum is an excellent resource to answer questions but not to gauge your potential performance on the exam, the advice we tell our applicants is to prepare well trust your instincts after intensive study for years you do know if you are prepared for an exam. You have gotten this far continue studying and do your best! This is not intended to be pep talk
:) but to genuinely tell you do not overthink taking the exam itself, but focus on the material.

Good luck!

IMGPrep Team

·
Registered
4,342 Posts
The reality

the bitter experiences here is kinda scaring me. Is USMLE has really become that tough?
It's not the USMLE that has become tough. It's getting into residency that has become tougher than all times.
You need to be fresh graduate, have high scores, have some form of USCE, and be aiming for a specialty that is not very competitive. Otherwise, you won't get into residency and therefore you must weigh your chances before getting into this huge pathway in your life.
If you have the three criteria (fresh, high scores, USCE) then go ahead and do the USMLE. If you are missing any one of them, I urge to reconsider your decision.

·
Registered
365 Posts
Hi guys.

First, let me tell you I've been reading silently here for over a year and this is a really good resource.