USMLE Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all

I decided to share my Step 1 experience too. Hope it would be helpful for someone, especially for very very old IMG like myself.
I got 224. I was reading this blog often trying to find answers on different questions and get inspired of anyone's luck and hoping to share the story of my success too.
A few words about myself. IMG 2002, then residency in Cardiology, then PhD studies and finally the head of the Cardiology department with intensive care unit. I had to resign shortly before my son was born. He is 2 now.

I started studying biochemistry in August, then I had a large gap while moving to the US and finding daycare for my son. My husband (he is an interventional cardiologist) had to stay in Moscow to continue working and supporting us.
My son started daycare from 8 am to 3pm in early November and started to get sick all the time. So December was not a month of studies again. In January we found a nanny from 9 am to 6 pm and my studies intensified. I studied from 9 am to 6 pm every day 5 days a week, and from 9 p.m. to 2 am 7 days a week when Danny was asleep. In early March I had 10 days of vacation ;) due to presentation at one of the conferences. I had to prepare some time for it though. My exam was May 27th, it seemed extremely tough for me and very tiresome. I was sure that I failed and I am more than happy with the result.
My study sources were:
First Aid - though it doesn't contain all the necessary material, so it's definitely not enough.
Kaplan lectures- listened to majority of them, though they take much time! Biochemistry (Sam Turko and Raymond) is great and necessary to listen to, Micro (lady lectures great, but it takes to much time), behavioral science and epidemiology is a must. Pathology is not great (I didn't have Lectures by Barone, though).