USMLE Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
wat is the definition of old IMG? i graduated in 2009 and i am hopin for appearin for my step 1 by mid march n cs by april n then ck by july but m apprehensive because everythin is so closeby n i havent kept any space for 'in case somethin goes wrong' m half done with first read only and i dont like just sittin at home n studyin because it will count as no experience on my cv in this time period..:S i also do not have any USCE or any research on me..also shud i apply for research n all right now? n how n where shud i apply..
please help..worried sick:(

· Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok tht means i HAVE to apply for the 2012 match then..is it ok to have an unemployed status in the time i am givin the steps though? i looked up the forum n it just says that i need contacts to get into research somewhere or i can ask the big hospitals to let me volunteer in which case I HAVE to be in states for that..:S

· Registered
337 Posts
It's not an official categorization by an institute or something. This is just a consensus among applicants and residency programs.
Most residency programs consider applicants who graduated more than three years ago as weak applicants.
Other programs have their cut off limit at 5 years.
Some programs even say that it's OK if less than 10 years.
Some program even say that they don't care about graduation year (usually low profile programs).

However, the most important factor (I think) is that you don't stay idle between your graduation date and the year you apply for the match. Try to fill it with something such as clerkships, externships, observerships, research, medical-related job, ...etc